Staff Book Lists by Find it list adult:

Lists of recommended books for various occasions and audiences: — Adult, Young Adult, or Childrens.

You can also request a personalized list of Childrens or Young Adult and Adult selections prepared by JMRL staff.


  1. gardener to gardener seed starting primer almanac hundreds of great ideas tips and techniques from gardeners just like you by
  2. mozhate gang qin xie zou qu mozart the piano concerto by Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791,
    Window of Shanghai
    Window on Shanghai is a Chinese book donation program launched by the Shanghai Library, and supported by the Shanghai Government; locally received by JMRL in partnership with UVa Libraries.

  3. mean little deaf queer a memoir by Galloway, Terry.
    Pride 2024
    Read with pride in 2024!

  4. in the kingdom of ice the grand and terrible polar voyage of the u s s jeannette by Sides, Hampton.
    Summer Reading 2024: Arctic Adventures
    Enjoy these books with chilly themes!

  5. hidden life of trees what they feel how they communicate discoveries from a secret world by Wohlleben, Peter, 1964-
    Summer Reading 2024: Forest Adventures
    Books that take the reader on a woodsy adventure.

  6. into the drowning deep by Grant, Mira.
    Summer Reading 2024: Ocean Adventures
    Go on an underwater adventure with these books!

  7. starless sea by Morgenstern, Erin.
    Summer Reading 2024: Library Adventures
    Adventure begins in your library! So enjoy some books that take place in a library.

  8. solito a memoir by Zamora, Javier.
    Books on Tap 2024-2025
    Book group readings for 2024-2025

  9. small mercies a novel by Lehane, Dennis,
    Brown Baggers (Central) June 2024 - May 2025
    The Brown Baggers Book Club at Central meet on the third Thursday of the month 12-1pm

  10. we were the lucky ones by Hunter, Georgia, 1978-
    Same Page 2024
    A compilation of adult books, fiction and nonfiction, to accompany our Same Page title, "Florence Adler Swims Forever." In these books, you'll find similar themes, styles, genres, subjects, and/or characters.

  11. 1000 words a writer s guide to staying creative focused and productive all year round by Attenberg, Jami,
    Virginia Festival of the Book 2024
    Read and check out books from the various authors speaking at this year's Festival of the Book March 23-26. More information at vabook.org. Most of these books are available in multiple formats. If you're interested in large print, an ebook, audiobook, or book on CD, search for the desired title in the catalogue search bar, and your results will include all formats.

  12. love prescription seven days to more intimacy connection and joy by Gottman, John Mordechai,
    Love & Relationships
    Mostly nonfiction books about love and maintaining relationships

  13. princess bride s morgenstern s classic tale of true love and high adventure by Goldman, William, 1931-
    Read Alouds for Adults
    Books that are great to read aloud to a loved one or friend.

  14. bringing up baby by
    Date Night Movies
    Great movies for a date night!

  15. when breath becomes air by Kalanithi, Paul.
    End of Life: Books on Death and Dying
    Books about death and dying, death and spirituality, after-death care, and grief

  16. hundred years war on palestine a history of settler colonialism and resistance 1917 2017 by Khalidi, Rashid.
    Israel/Palestine
    Books from our collection that illuminate aspects of the conflict in Israel/Palestine.

  17. chobits by
  18. until i meet my husband by Nanasaki, Ryōsuke, 1987-
  19. cardcaptor sakura by
  20. Michael's Beach Reads 2023
    Michael is on vacation! These are his beach reads for Summer 2023.

  21. mrs wheelbarrow s practical pantry recipes and techniques for year round preserving by Barrow, Cathy.
  22. maid a novel by Prose, Nita.
    Brown Baggers (Central) June 2023 - May 2024
    The Brown Baggers Book Club at Central meet on the third Thursday of the month 12-1pm

  23. iveliz explains it all by Arango, Andrea Beatriz.
    Virginia Festival of the Book 2023
    Read and check out books from the various authors speaking at this year's Festival of the Book. More information at vabook.org.

  24. along virginia s appalachian trail by Adkins, Leonard M.
    All You Wanted to Know About Hiking
    Companion list for the All You Wanted to Know about Hiking program from Scottsville Library.

  25. ultimate sashiko sourcebook patterns projects and inspirations by Briscoe, Susan,
    Mending
    Wear and repair: mending techniques for clothing and other textiles.

  26. here for it or how to save your soul in america essays by Thomas, R. Eric.
    Same Page 2023
    A selection of Adult, YA & Children's readalikes for Ross Gay's "The Book of Delights".

  27. i m glad my mom died by McCurdy, Jennette, 1992-
    Reading Resolutions: An "On the Same Page" Podcast List
    Titles as heard on Season 6, Episode 15 or the On the Same Page podcast. Listen here - http://onthesamepage.blubrry.net/

  28. emperor of all maladies a biography of cancer by Mukherjee, Siddhartha.
  29. anatomy of grief by Holinger, Dorothy P.
    Grief and Loss
    Resources for all ages for those experiencing grief or loss

  30. Fall Into Reading: An "On the Same Page" Podcast List
    These books are mentioned in a reading recommendation segment from the OTSP podcast episode S. 6 E. 13!

  31. lioness by Bohjalian, Chris, 1962-
    Books on Tap 2023-2024
    Book group readings for 2023-2024

  32. all her little secrets a novel by Morris, Wanda M. 1959-
    Black Authors With Black Characters
    Diverse books serve both as mirrors and windows of different human emotions and experiences. They offer a powerful opportunity to build community, increase empathy, and push back against bias and prejudice. These books were chosen for this list because they also feature cover representation. It is so powerful to see faces and bodies that look like your own reflected back to you on a book cover. Enjoy!

  33. things fall apart by Achebe, Chinua.
    Literary Masterpieces Book Group (Gordon)
    A book group that meets regularly to discuss literary classics.  New members and visitors are welcome.  This group currently meets on the first Thursday of the month via Zoom.  This virtual program can be accessed both by Zoom online and by a toll-free phone number. Sign up to receive details.

  34. activate your goodness transforming the world through doing good by Arison, Shari, 1957-
  35. love songs of w e b du bois a novel by Jeffers, Honorée Fanonne, 1967-
    Monday Night Book Club (Crozet) - September 2022-July 2023
    Join this informal group for relaxed and stimulating book discussions. Newcomers always welcome. Drop by in person at the Crozet Library or sign up online for instructions on how to join this Zoom meeting by computer.

  36. move how the new science of body movement can set your mind free by Williams, Caroline, 1975-
    Mindful Movement
    Books on moving mindfully

  37. radiant the dancer the scientist and a friendship forged in light by Heinecke, Liz Lee,
    Celebrate International Day of Friendship!
    International Friendship Day is recognized globally on July 30.

  38. passing by Larsen, Nella.
    Brown Baggers (Central) June 2022 - May 2023
    The Brown Baggers Book Club at Central meet on the third Thursday of the month 12-1pm

  39. american marriage by Jones, Tayari.
  40. soul of an octopus a surprising exploration into the wonder of consciousness by Montgomery, Sy.
    On the Same Page Podcast Summer Reading
    These books mentioned in JMRL's On the Same Page podcast will help you complete this summer's reading challenge!

  41. gender queer a memoir by Kobabe, Maia.
  42. great believers by Makkai, Rebecca.
    Read With Pride
    LGBTQ+ fiction for adults

  43. rice a savor the south cookbook by Twitty, Michael, 1977-
  44. flowers by Gibbons, Gail.
  45. wildflowers of the shenandoah valley and blue ridge mountains by Gupton, Oscar W.
  46. Beyond the How-To Festival
    Want more how-to? Check out these great titles from JMRL!

  47. complete houseplant survival manual essential know how for keeping not killing more than 160 indoor plants by Pleasant, Barbara.
    Gardening and Houseplants
    Nurture the plants in your life with help from these selections.

  48. new jim crow mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness by Alexander, Michelle.
    Civil War, Reconstruction, and Black History
    A selection of fiction and nonfiction books for adults.

  49. american bastard a memoir by Beatty, Jan, 1952-
    Virginia Festival of the Book 2022
    Virginia Festival of the Book will be held March 16-20 this year as a hybrid event, both in person and virtual. There is a full schedule of engaging discussions for all ages and interests. Check https://www.vabook.org/ for full details. Here is a list of books and authors you will find featured during the festival. Most of these books are available in multiple formats. If you're interested in large print, an ebook, audiobook, or a book on CD, search for the desired title in the catalogue search bar, and your results will include all formats.

  50. medical apartheid the dark history of medical experimentation on black americans from colonial times to the present by Washington, Harriet A.
    Black History Month 2022: Black Health and Wellness
    Check out https://asalh.org/ for more amazing resources, virtual events, and ways to get involved and connected.

  51. we are not from here by Torres Sanchez, Jenny.
    SamePage 2022
    A list of suggested titles related to the book We Are Not Free by Traci Chee

  52. misinformation age how false beliefs spread by O
  53. please don t sit on my bed in your outside clothes essays by Robinson, Phoebe.
  54. gentleman in moscow a novel by Towles, Amor.
  55. running with lions by Winters, Julian.
  56. 1 000 butterflies an illustrated guide to the world s most beautiful butterflies featuring all the families subfamilies tribes and major genera by Hoskins, Adrian.
    Environmental Titles for Earth Day
    Celebrate Earth Day Every Day on April 22 and beyond! This list of fiction and nonfiction titles tackles environmental issues and plant-based eating, as well as climate and eco fiction. If you like this list, you may also want to check out our list titled "Climate Change Nonfiction": https://hestia.jmrl.org/findit/MyResearch/MyList/576

  57. appropriate an octoroon plays by Jacobs-Jenkins, Branden.
    The Golden Collection
    15 plays by prominent Black playwrights, donated in honor of Jeremy O. Harris. Learn more about the Golden Collection here: https://slaveplaybroadway.com/resources/

  58. 7 tools to beat addiction by Peele, Stanton.
    Mental Health Resources
    Books (and a few movies) on depression, anxiety, grief, addiction, and other mental health concerns. This list includes fiction, poetry, memoirs, and nonfiction.

  59. what s new cupcake ingeniously simple designs for every occasion by Tack, Karen.
    Great Library Bake Off - Baking Books and DVDs
    For those participating in the Great Library Bake Off, or anyone who feel the urge to create something delicious! We have much more than this, so we hope you'll make an appointment to browse the shelves at one of our libraries.

  60. against the loveless world a novel by Abulhawa, Susan,
    Virginia Festival of the Book 2021
    Virtual event March 13-26, 2021. Most of these books are available in multiple formats. If you're interested in large print, an ebook, audiobook, or book on CD, search for the desired title in the catalogue search bar, and your results will include all formats.

  61. 10 best anxiety busters simple strategies to take control of your worry by Wehrenberg, Margaret.
    Self Care
    Information and methods related to self care, including: yoga, meditation, anti-anxiety practices, stress management, easy recipes, soothing hobbies, and more!

  62. ali a life by Eig, Jonathan.
    The Undefeated
    More information about the people featured in The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander and Kadir Nelson.

  63. red white royal blue by McQuiston, Casey.
    Humorous Fiction
    Get your happy on with a chuckle or an outright belly laugh with some humorous fiction. This list includes humor in tough situations, romantic comedy, satire, and more. Look for the tags!

  64. i never had it made an autobiography by Robinson, Jackie, 1919-1972.
    African-American Athletes: A List for Adults
    Inspired by Kwame Alexander's picture book The Undefeated, this list offers further reading about African-American athletes.

  65. Civil Rights Movement: A List for Adults
    Inspired by Kwame Alexander's picture book The Undefeated, this list offers further reading about the Civil Rights Movement.

  66. stokely a life by Joseph, Peniel E.
    Black Power Movement: A List for Adults
    Inspired by Kwame Alexander's picture book The Undefeated, this list offers further reading about the Black Power Movement.

  67. african american classics by
  68. black inventors in the age of segregation granville t woods lewis h latimer shelby j davidson by Fouché, Rayvon, 1969-
    African American Inventors and Scientists: A List for Adults
    Inspired by Kwame Alexander's picture book The Undefeated, this list offers further reading about African-American inventors and scientists.

  69. black lives matter by Edwards, Sue Bradford.
    Black Lives Matter: A List for Adults
    Inspired by Kwame Alexander's picture book The Undefeated, this list offers further reading about the Black Lives Matter movement.

  70. breakbeat poets new american poetry in the age of hip hop by
    African American Poetry for Adults
    A sample of poems by African Americans in the JMRL catalog.

  71. worst journey in the world by Cherry-Garrard, Apsley, 1886-1959.
    In the Kingdom of Ice Read Alikes
    Real-life adventures in cold climates and the ice that sustains them. Books on Tap January 2021

  72. four tendencies the indispensable personality profiles that reveal how to make your life better and other people s lives better too by Rubin, Gretchen.
    Goals, Motivation, and Habits
    Books that will help you build new habits and break down old ones in pursuit of your goals.

  73. 100 plays for the first hundred days by Parks, Suzan-Lori.
    Plays Written by Women
    From classic to contemporary, browse a sampling of JMRL's collection of plays written by women.

  74. all the real indians died off and 20 other myths about native americans by Dunbar-Ortiz, Roxanne, 1939-
    Contemporary Native American & Indigenous Voices
    Recent books for adults by Native American own voices.

  75. better late than never by Roby, Kimberla Lawson.
    Christian Fiction by Black Authors
    Black authors writing novels with contemporary Christian themes. These books range from sweet to sizzling.

  76. why we dream the transformative power of our nightly journey by Robb, Alice.
  77. their eyes were watching god by Hurston, Zora Neale.
    Historical Fiction - African Americans
    This list contains older classic historical fiction titles and some newer titles. In all of them the main characters and the themes of the book focus on African Americans and their history and culture.

  78. man s search for meaning by Frankl, Viktor E. 1905-1997.
    Philosophy Book Club List
    Books covering works written by philosophers, as well as books about philosophy, or philosophical concerns such as happiness, meaning and freedom.

  79. index to virginia estates 1800 1865 by Pippenger, Wesley E., 1956-
    Virginia Genealogical Resources
    Resources for genealogical researchers available for viewing at the Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society Reading Room.

  80. water for elephants a novel by Gruen, Sara.
    NaNoWriMo-Born Books
    Books that were written during NaNoWriMo

  81. artful edit on the practice of editing yourself by Bell, Susan 1958-
    NaNoWriMo Resources
    NaNoWriMo (national novel writing month) takes place every November, and challenges participants to write a novel in a month. This list should inspire and guide you all year long as you write. We've collected resources on craft, editing, and even marketing and selling your work.

  82. breath the new science of a lost art by Nestor, James.
    Breathing for Health
    These materials relate to breathing and meditation for health and wellbeing. Check out this list for books on how the smallest changes can make big impacts.

  83. absolutely true diary of a part time indian by Alexie, Sherman, 1966-
  84. george by Gino, Alex.
    Challenged + Banned Books 2015-2019
    According to the American Library Association Office for Intellectual Freedom, these were the most challenged books between 2015-2019.

  85. last train to key west by Cleeton, Chanel.
    LatinX Experience Adult Fiction
    During Latinx Heritage Month, JMRL is proud to highlight the cultures, contributions and resilience of Latinx, Hispanic and Latino-identified communities around the world.

  86. city of dreams the 400 year epic history of immigrant new york by Anbinder, Tyler.
    The Story of US Immigration (Adult Non-Fiction )
    In honor of Welcome Week 2020, which aimed to: “affirm the importance of welcoming and inclusive places in achieving collective prosperity.” Check out this selection of titles to learn more about the story of immigration in the United States.

  87. americanah a novel by Adichie, Chimamanda Ngozi, 1977-
    The Story of US Immigration (Adult Fiction)
    In honor of Welcome Week 2020, which aimed to: “affirm the importance of welcoming and inclusive places in achieving collective prosperity.” Check out this selection of titles to learn more about the story of immigration in the United States.

Search lists by title or description